Selection Convention updates

Less than 100 days to go! As the June date for the local and European elections is now fast approaching, we have officially selected over 80 candidates for the locals and 2 of our 3 candidates for Europe, with Aodhán Ó Ríordáin TD selected to run in Dublin and Niamh Hourigan selected to run in Ireland South. We will be holding our convention for Midlands North West in the coming weeks.

In Kilkenny, we selected Cllr. Tomás Breathnach in Piltown and Andrea Cleere and Seán Ó hArgáin in Kilkenny City.

In Cork, we have selected John O’Regan in Carrigaline, James Joy in Cork City North West and Cllr. Eoghan Kenny was selected to run in Mallow and co-opted onto Cork County Council to replace Cllr. James Kennedy.


Jordan Lewis was selected in Roscrea-Templemore in Tipperary, complete with string quartet for the convention!

Cllr. Elaine McGinty was selected in Laytown-Bettystown in Meath, and in South Dublin, Joshua Ellul was selected in Clondalkin.

In Galway, John McDonagh was selected in Galway City Central, and in Fingal, Cllr. Brendan Ryan was selected to run in Balbriggan.

In Mayo, Kamal Uddin will run in Castlebar, and in Waterford Cllr. John Pratt will run in Lismore and Cllr. Thomas Phelan will run in Dungarvan.

And finally, in Dublin Rathdown, Cllr. Peter O’Brien has been selected to run in Dundrum, Cllr. Lettie McCarthy will run in Glencullen-Sandyford and Rebekah Fozzard will run in Stillorgan.

All of these candidates and more need help from all our members across the country to help them to win as many Labour seats as possible in June. Please get in touch with your local candidates to see how you can help their campaigns – all levels of skill and experience required!

Aideen Blackwood

National Organiser


Stay up to date

Receive our latest updates in your inbox.
By subscribing you agree to receive emails about our campaigns, policies, appeals and opportunities to get involved. Privacy Policy

Follow us

Connect with us on social media