Selection conventions and candidates nominated so far

We have been busy with more selection conventions for the Local Elections this month, with 13 candidates now selected.

In the Rush Lusk LEA in Dublin Fingal, Cllr. Rob O’Donoghue and Corina Johnston were selected, with high hopes of Corina taking the second seat in next year’s Local Elections, strengthening the great Labour team we have on Fingal County Council.  

Senator Annie Hoey, Cllr Rob O’Donoghue, Corina Johnston and Duncan Smith TD

In Kildare South, Cllr. Aoife Breslin and Cllr. Mark Leigh were selected to run in the Athy LEA, hoping to maintain the 43% of the vote the Labour Party secured in Athy in 2019. Chris Harrison has also been selected to run in the Monasterevin LEA.

Senator Mark Wall, Cllr Aoife Breslin, Chris Harrison and Cllr Mark Leigh

A selection convention was also held in the North Inner City LEA to co-opt a replacement for Cllr. Joe Costello, who has announced his retirement after many years of service to Dublin Central, to Ireland, and to the Labour Party. We are so thankful to Joe for all of his work.

Deborah Byrne, a local campaigner from the North Inner City, has been co-opted to fill his seat on Dublin City Council. Congratulations to Deborah!

Cllr Joe Costello, Deborah Byrne and Senator Marie Sherlock

We will be back in earnest in September with a busy month of conventions lined up already, ahead of a very busy autumn.
If your constituency would like to organise a selection convention, please don’t hesitate to get in touch by email at [email protected].

– Aideen Blackwood, National Organiser

Stay up to date

Receive our latest updates in your inbox.
By subscribing you agree to receive emails about our campaigns, policies, appeals and opportunities to get involved. Privacy Policy

Follow us

Connect with us on social media